

30 East 7th Street, Suite 350 St. Paul, MN 55101-7804

651-201-1705

Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes November 15, 2023

A meeting of the Board of Trustees was held on November 15, 2023.

Trustees present: Roger Moe, Chair; George Soule, Vice Chair; Alex Cirillo, Jay Cowles, Dawn Erlandson, Jim Grabowska, Tim Huebsch, April Nishimura, Christopher Richter, Kathy Sheran, Cheryl Tefer

Trustees absent: Micah Coatie, Idman Ibrahim, Jerry Janezich, Javier Morillo

Staff present: Scott Olson, Chancellor

Meeting materials and audio recordings are available on the **Board of Trustees website**.

Chair Moe called the meeting to order at 1:13 p.m.

Chancellor's Report, Scott Olson

Thank you, Chair Moe, and thank you to trustees for your service; Trustee Huebsch for your hospitality, and Presidents Inch and Parker for your great hospitality and hosting meetings. Since our last meeting in October, we have met with the Governor's staff and the House Higher Education Committee. Both meetings had a lot of engagement. I will say that in both cases they were managed our expectations with regard to additional funding.

Regarding this month's meetings, we talked about enrollment and NextGen. I am wondering how you all like the enrollment poster session we did, as it has been a while since we used that format. Regarding the NextGen and SEMA4 integration, as you heard President Raich say, there will be problems with Next Gen, but we just need to bring them forward so that we can solve them. This will be hard, but we need to be open in discussing and solving problems as they arrive. We also talked about fundraising and how to leverage other revenue streams. We talked about workforce and will send the DEED ROI product to trustees.

I had the opportunity Monday evening, along with Vice Chancellor Dees and President Anita Hanson, to join the Mankato community to celebrate American Indian Night. These types of events occur at our campuses and are coordinated by our students, faculty and staff and I would encourage each one of us to find opportunities to attend campus events to gather, learn, and celebrate with each other. Finally, the Aspen Institute announced the top 150 community colleges eligible for the 2025 Aspen Prize. The Aspen Prize honors colleges with outstanding achievement in six critical areas: teaching and learning, certificate and degree completion, transfer and bachelor's attainment, workforce success, access, and equity for students of color and students from low-income backgrounds. I am proud to announce that 5 of our colleges were identified: Alexandria Technical & Community College, Central Lakes College, Dakota County Technical College, Minnesota State Community and Technical College and Northland Community and Technical College. These 5 colleges are now eligible to apply for the \$1 million Aspen Prize. The list of 150 will get narrowed down to 25 and then the top 10 will be announced and ultimately a final winner 2025. We wish our campuses luck in this next phase. Chair Moe – that concludes my remarks.

Chair's Report

Thank you, Chancellor. My comments will be brief. Since last meeting, I attended the MSU Moorhead Weld Hall groundbreaking, a project 12 years in the making. There is a rumor that Weld Hall is haunted. I suggested that President Downs count them in the enrollment numbers. We had a good hearing with the House Higher Ed committee. We had great sessions on strategic enrollment management, NextGen, and a study session on workforce and economic development efforts.

Thank you to both MSU Mankato for excellent support from president's office, IT services, catering and South Central for a great breakfast and tour. With that, we will move on to the consent agenda.

Consent Agenda

Chair Moe asked if anyone wanted to remove an item from the Consent Agenda. A roll call vote was conducted. The vote was as follows:

Trustee Cirillo	Yes
Trustee Coatie	Absent
Trustee Cowles	Yes
Trustee Erlandson	Yes
Trustee Grabowska	Yes
Trustee Huebsch	Yes
Trustee Ibrahim	Absent
Trustee Janezich	Absent
Trustee Moe	Yes
Trustee Morillo	Absent
Trustee Nishimura	Yes
Trustee Richter	Yes
Trustee Sheran	Yes
Trustee Soule	Yes
Trustee Tefer	Yes

The board voted to approve the consent agenda as follows:

- 1. Minutes of October 18, 2023
- 2. Review Audit Results and Approve Release of Audited Financial Statements
- 3. Contracts Requiring Board Approval

a. Crawford B. Hall Restroom Renovation, Minnesota State University, Mankato

- b. Twin Cities Graduate Center Lease Extension, St. Cloud State University
- 4. Proposed Amendment to Board Policy 4.4 Weather/Short Term Emergency Closings (Second Reading)

Board Standing Committee Reports

Finance and Facilities Committee, Jay Cowles, Chair

Committee Chair Cowles reported that the committee approved recommendation for one item. The Finance and Facilities Committee recommends the Board of Trustees adopt the following motion:

The Finance and Facilities Committee recommends the Board of Trustees approve the fiscal year 2025 request in the amount of \$61,000,000 in ongoing base funding. Full funding of the \$61,000,000 would provide colleges and universities additional resources to support ongoing biennial costs that currently exceed the additional ongoing biennial revenue. The Board of Trustees has been granted the authority in state statute to govern and operate Minnesota State. The board, after full consultation with Minnesota State constituencies, will make final budget decisions at the conclusion of the legislative session.

Recommendations of a committee do not require a second. A roll call vote was conducted. The vote was as follows:

Trustee Cirillo	Yes
Trustee Coatie	Absent
Trustee Cowles	Yes
Trustee Erlandson	Yes
Trustee Grabowska	Yes
Trustee Huebsch	Yes
Trustee Ibrahim	Absent
Trustee Janezich	Absent
Trustee Moe	Yes
Trustee Morillo	Absent
Trustee Nishimura	Yes
Trustee Richter	Yes
Trustee Sheran	Yes
Trustee Soule	Yes
Trustee Tefer	Yes

The board voted to approve the recommended motion.

The board also received reports from meetings of the following committees:

- Audit Committee, Jay Cowles, Vice Chair
- Outreach and Engagement Committee, Dawn Erlandson, Chair
- Workforce and Organizational Effectiveness Committee, George Soule, Chair

Student Associations and Bargaining Units

Student associations and bargaining units were invited to submit written remarks and were given the opportunity to address the board in person. Written remarks were provided by AFSCME.

In person remarks were provided by:

- Students United: Kendra Drager, Treasurer
- American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME): Minnesota State Policy Committee Jennifer Erwin, President
- Inter Faculty Organization (IFO): Jenna Chernega, President
- Minnesota Association of Professional Employees (MAPE): Nicole Emerson, Minnesota State Meet & Confer Chair
- Minnesota State University Association of Administrative and Service Faculty (MSUAAF): Kristy Modrow, President

Trustee Reports

No trustee reports were heard.

Adjournment

Chair Moe adjourned the meeting at 2:11 p.m.