

Finance and Facilities Committee Meeting Minutes November 2023

A meeting of the Finance and Facilities Committee of the Board of Trustees was held on Tuesday, November 14, 2023.

Committee members present: Jay Cowles, Chair; Micah Coatie, Jim Grabowska, Tim Huebsch, Jerry Janezich, April Nishimura, and Kathy Sheran.

Committee members absent: None

Other board members present: Alex Cirillo, Dawn Erlandson, Idman Ibrahim, Roger Moe, Christopher Richter, George Soule, and Cheryl Tefer

Staff present: Scott Olson, Chancellor; Bill Maki, Vice Chancellor for Finance and Facilities

Meeting materials and audio recordings are available on the **Board of Trustees website**.

Committee Chair Cowles called the meeting to order at 3:24 p.m.

Agenda Item 1: Approval of the Meeting Minutes for October 17, 2023

Committee Chair Cowles asked if there were any changes or amendments to the minutes, then asked for a motion. Trustee Janezich made the motion and Trustee Grabowska provided a second.

A roll call vote was conducted. The vote was as follows:

Micah Coatie	Aye
Jay Cowles	Aye
Jim Grabowska	Aye
Tim Huebsch	Aye
Jerry Janezich	Aye
April Nishimura	Aye
Kathy Sheran	Aye

The committee voted to approve the minutes.



Agenda Item 2: Contracts Requiring Board Approval:

Committee Chair Cowles invited Brian Yolitz, Associate Vice Chancellor for Facilities to present the contracts for review.

Committee Chair Cowles asked committee members to consider the following recommended committee motion for Agenda Item 2a: Crawford B. Hall Restroom Renovation, Minnesota State University, Mankato

The Finance and Facilities Committee recommends that the Board of Trustees authorize the chancellor or the chancellor's designee to enter into a construction contract not to exceed \$2,500,000 to renovate Crawford B. Hall restrooms at Minnesota State University, Mankato. The Board of Trustees directs the chancellor or their designee to execute all necessary documents.

Trustee Grabowska made the motion and Trustee Huebsch seconded. A roll call vote was conducted. The vote was as follows:

Micah Coatie	Aye
Jay Cowles	Aye
Jim Grabowska	Aye
Tim Huebsch	Aye
Jerry Janezich	Aye
April Nishimura	Aye
Kathy Sheran	Aye

The committee voted to approve the recommended motion.

Committee Chair Cowles asked committee members to consider the following recommended committee motion for Agenda Item 2b: Twin Cities Graduate Center Lease Extension, St. Cloud State University

The Finance and Facilities Committee recommends that the Board of Trustees authorize the Chancellor or the Chancellor's designee to enter into a Lease Extension for up to five (5) years or an additional \$1.8 million providing St. Cloud State University continued operation of their Twin Cities Graduate Center.

Trustee Janezich made the motion and Trustee Grabowska seconded. A roll call vote was conducted. The vote was as follows:

Micah Coatie	Aye
Jay Cowles	Aye
Jim Grabowska	Aye
Tim Huebsch	Aye
Jerry Janezich	Aye
April Nishimura	Aye
Kathy Sheran	Aye

Agenda Item 3: FY2024-25 Supplemental Budget Request (Second Reading)

Committee Chair Cowles invited Vice Chancellor Maki to present the first reading of the proposed FY2024-25 Supplemental Budget Request as detailed in the meeting materials. The Vice Chancellor was joined by Steve Ernest, System Director for Financial Planning and Analysis.

Committee Chair Cowles asked committee members to consider the following recommended motion:

The Finance and Facilities Committee recommends that the Board of Trustees approve the fiscal year 2025 request in the amount of \$61,000,000 in ongoing base funding. Full funding of the \$61,000,000 would provide colleges and universities additional resources to support ongoing biennial costs that currently exceed the additional ongoing biennial revenue.

The Board of Trustees has been granted the authority in state statute to govern and operate Minnesota State. The board, after full consultation with Minnesota State constituencies, will make final budget decisions at the conclusion of the legislative session.

Trustee Janezich made the motion and Trustee Grabowska seconded. A roll call vote was conducted. The vote was as follows:

Micah Coatie	Aye
Jay Cowles	Aye
Jim Grabowska	Aye
Tim Huebsch	Aye
Jerry Janezich	Aye
April Nishimura	Aye
Kathy Sheran	Aye

Adjournment

The committee chair adjourned the meeting at 4:09 p.m.