

651-201-1705

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee Meeting Minutes January 24, 2024

A meeting of the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee of the Board of Trustees was held on January 24, 2024.

Committee members present: George Soule, Chair; Javier Morillo, Vice Chair; Jim Grabowska, Idman Ibrahim, Christopher Richter and Kathy Sheran

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee members absent: April Nishimura

Other board members present: Alex Cirillo, Jay Cowles, Dawn Erlandson, Tim Huebsch, Jerry Janezich, Roger Moe, and Cheryl Tefer

Staff present: Scott Olson, Chancellor; Andriel Dees, Vice Chancellor for Equity and Inclusion

Meeting materials and audio recordings are available on the **Board of Trustees website**.

Committee Chair Soule called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

Agenda Items 1: Approval of the Meeting Minutes of October 17, 2023

Committee Chair Soule asked if there are any changes or amendments to the minutes then asked for a motion to approve. Trustee Richter made the motion and Trustee Morillo provided a second.

A roll call vote was conducted and the minutes were approved unanimously.

Agenda Item 2: Addressing Equity Gaps: Art of Equity and MavPass

Committee Chair Soule invited Vice Chancellor Dees along with the following staff from Minnesota State University – Mankato, Henry Morris, Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Timothy Berry, Associate Vice President for Faculty Affairs & Equity Initiatives, and Laura Jacobi, Professor and University MavPASS Faculty Liaison to present their work surrounding closing equity gaps at Minnesota State University - Mankato, as detailed in the meeting materials.

This being an informational item, there was no vote taken.

Adjournment

The committee chair adjourned the meeting at 11:01 a.m.