651-201-1705

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee Meeting Minutes March 19, 2024

A meeting of the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee of the Board of Trustees was held on March 19, 2024.

Committee members present: George Soule, Chair; Jim Grabowska, Idman Ibrahim, Christopher Richter and Kathy Sheran.

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee members absent: Javier Morillo, Vice Chair and Trustee April Nishimura.

Other board members present: Alex Cirillo, Jay Cowles, Dawn Erlandson, Tim Huebsch, Jerry Janezich, Roger Moe, and Cheryl Tefer

Staff present: Scott Olson, Chancellor; Andriel Dees, Vice Chancellor for Equity and Inclusion

Meeting materials and audio recordings are available on the **Board of Trustees website**.

Committee Chair Soule called the meeting to order at 10:50 a.m.

Agenda Items 1: Approval of the Meeting Minutes of January 24, 2024

Committee Chair Soule asked if there are any changes or amendments to the minutes then asked for a motion to approve. Trustee Grabowska made the motion and Trustee Richter provided a second.

A roll call vote was conducted and the minutes were approved unanimously.

Agenda Item 2: Supporting Minnesota State LatinX Students and Community

Committee Chair Soule invited Vice Chancellor Dees along with Kathleen Linaker, President of Riverland Community College, Rosa Tock, Executive Director of Minnesota Council on Latino Affairs and Katya Zepeda, Legislative and Policy Director – Education for Minnesota Council on Latino Affairs to share their work and efforts surrounding the equity gap data of our LatinX students systemwide with opportunities for us to consider for our institutions and how Riverland Community College is on track to becoming a Hispanic serving institution, as detailed in the meeting materials.

This being an informational item, there was no vote taken.

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee Meeting Minutes March 19, 2024

Adjournment

The committee chair adjourned the meeting at 11:38 a.m.