

ACC President's Report Stephanie J. Fujii, Ph.D. May 8, 2024

#### TRANSFORM THE STUDENT EXPERIENCE

#### SIX ACC STUDENTS HONORED BY CCCS

ACC students **Alexander Brainerd** (PTK All-Colorado Academic Team), **Ripley Cusinato** (PTK All-Colorado Academic Team), **Elise Edwards** (ACC Inclusive Excellence Champion), **Alexa Fitzpatrick** (ACC Rising Star), **Isha Singh** (ACC Rising Star) and **Isabelle Tolar** (PTK All-Colorado Academic Team) were all honored on April 10 during the CCCS Student Excellence Awards Ceremony at the Denver Center for Performing Arts. <u>FULL STORY</u>

#### AUTO TECH STUDENTS SHINE AT COLORADO SkillsUSA

Four ACC <u>Automotive Service Technology</u> students combined to earn three gold medals and one silver medal at the <u>SkillsUSA State Leadership & Skills Conference</u> on April 9-11 in Pueblo. **Noah Wilson** took first place, while **Alex Ishee** placed second, in the Post-Secondary Automotive Service Technology competition. **Cody Stokes** took top honors in the Post-Secondary Related Technical Math division, and **Alexander Brainerd** prevailed in the Post-Secondary Job Interview category. ACC SkillsUSA co-advisors <u>Eddie Miller</u> and <u>Jake Tipsword</u> will accompany Brainerd, Stokes and Wilson to the <u>SkillsUSA National Leadership & Skills</u> <u>Conference</u> on June 24-28 in Atlanta. Even more, Arapahoe High School student Jayden Lurtz (Sheridan High School / ACC Auto Tech program) took third place in the Secondary Automotive competition. Lurtz earned a medal, a new set of Snap-On tools, and a \$2,000 scholarship.

#### SCHWARTING NAMED ACC STUDENT OF THE YEAR

Janelle Schwarting has been named 2023-24 ACC Student of the Year. Janelle, who served as the Secretary on the State Student Advisory Council, was also selected as ACC's Inclusive Excellence Champion during the spring of 2023. A member of the NSLS and PTK honor societies, she also worked as a lead peer mentor for ACC's TRiO Student Support Services program. Janelle will graduate from ACC in the fall of 2024 with her AA degree in Psychology and aspires to become a speech language pathologist.

#### TRANSFORM OUR OWN WORKFORCE EXPERIENCE

#### • FUJII FEATURED IN My Denver South VIDEO

ACC President <u>Stephanie J. Fujii, Ph.D.</u>, conveys the importance of investing in - and collaborating with - business, industry and workforce partners to support the economic vitality of the south metro Denver communities both now, and in the future, in this <u>My Denver South video</u>.

## CREATE EDUCATION WITHOUT BARRIERS THROUGH TRANSFORMATIONAL PARTNERSHIPS

#### ACC SELECTED FOR MEMBERSHIP IN USSPACECOM AEE

Academic Engagement Enterprise (USSPACECOM AEE), effective March 6, 2024. The goal of the program is to foster relationships and collaboration between cutting edge academic institutions and USSPACECOM. USSPACECOM collaborates with Academia to shape the future workforce by creating a more diverse, robust and accessible pool of qualified Space professionals for military and civilian work roles within the Space Mission Force. This collaboration is also being fostered to expand Space-focused analytic partnerships, enrich strategic dialogue on Space, and increase Space applied research and innovation. Academic institutions that achieve USSPACECOM AEE membership receive defense-level Space learning outcomes and competencies to enhance programming and collaborative research, as well as access to exclusive discussions, webinars and symposiums.

# REDEFINE OUR VALUE PROPOSITION THROUGH ACCESSIBILITY, AFFORDABILITY, QUALITY, ACCOUNTABILITY, RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT AND OPERATIONAL EXCELLENCE

#### ACC GARNERS MPPWCC ACCOLADES

ACC has been named a 2024 Most Promising Places to Work in Community Colleges (MPPWCC) award winner by the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) and Diverse: Issues in Higher Education. ACC is being honored for its commitment to providing a campus where all individuals and groups feel welcomed, respected, and valued. The MPPWCC study recognizes community and technical college exceptional commitments to diversity (including race/ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, disability, age, class, veterans, and thought) through best-in-class student and staff recruitment and retention practices, inclusive learning and working environments, and meaningful community service and engagement opportunities. MPPWCC institutions are selected based on a comprehensive analysis of results from an annual survey administered to participating institutional members of NISOD. Scores are computed using the algorithm that considers weighted data for all points highlighted on the survey such as diversity benefits, staff demographics and diversity policies. As the number of respondents to the annual survey grows each year, the algorithm properly adjusts for the diversity of institutions. ACC will be recognized May 28 during NISOD's International Conference on Teaching & Leadership Excellence in Austin, Texas.

#### **OTHER NEWS**

#### FOUR ACC EMPLOYEES HONORED BY CCCS

<u>Lisa Christiansen</u> (Administrator of the Year), <u>Crystal Kelly</u> (Classified of the Year), <u>Jaden Netwig</u> (Faculty of the Year) and Barb Stoner (Adjunct of the Year) were all honored as ACC's 2023-24 Employees of the Year during the annual CCCS Employee Excellence Awards luncheon and celebration on April 9 at History Colorado.

#### • BLEI HONORED BY CU BOULDER

ACC Transfer Specialist <u>Brittany Blei</u> has been selected to receive a 2024 Outstanding Colorado Community College Educator Award from CU Boulder. The Outstanding Colorado Community College Educator Awards are presented annually to educators across the state who have demonstrated a commitment to helping students achieve their higher education goals.

### • FUJII SERVING ON AACC, NAPIC BOARDS

ACC President <u>Stephanie J. Fujii, Ph.D.</u>, has begun her two-year term as <u>NAPIC</u> (National Asian Pacific Islander Council) president. Dr. Fujii's three-year term as an Affiliated Council Representative on the <u>AACC</u> (American Association of Community Colleges) Board of Directors will begin on July 1.