

AGENDA ITEM SUMMARY

NAME: Workforce and Organizational Effectiveness Committee DATE: November 15, 2022

TITLE: Emeritus Recognition

\square Proposed New Policy or	oxtimes Approvals Required by	Other Approvals
Amendment to Existing Policy	Policy	

□ Monitoring/Compliance □ Information

PRESENTERS

Devinder Malhotra, Chancellor Eric Davis, Vice Chancellor for Human Resources

PURPOSE

Six presidents will be recognized and awarded Presidential Emeritus status.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Pursuant to Board Policy 4.8, Emeritus Status, Chancellor Malhotra will present his six recommendations to confer presidential emeritus status upon the following presidents, who have served as presidents in good standing.

Dennis Bona: Served as president of Northland Community and Technical College from 2015 to 2020

Richard Davenport: Served as president of Minnesota State University, Mankato from 2002 to 2021

Connie Gores: Served as president of Southwest Minnesota State University from 2013 to 2019

Faith Hensrud: Served as president of Bemidji State University and Northwest Technical College from 2016 to 2022

Patrick Johns: Served as president at Anoka-Ramsey Community College from 1990 to 2010 and as president of Lake Superior College from 2010 to 2019

Laura Urban: Served as president of Alexandria Technical and Community College from 2014 to 2019.

RECOMMENDED COMMITTEE MOTION

The Workforce and Organizational Effectiveness Committee recommends that the Board of

Trustees adopt the following motion.

RECOMMENDED BOARD MOTION

Upon the recommendation of Chancellor Malhotra, in recognition that the following individuals have served as presidents with great distinction, the Board of Trustees hereby confers the honorary title of President Emeritus upon Dennis Bona, Northland Community and Technical College; Richard Davenport, Minnesota State University, Mankato; Connie Gores, Southwest Minnesota State University; Faith Hensrud, Bemidji State University and Northwest Technical College; Patrick Johns, Anoka-Ramsey Community College and Lake Superior College; Laura Urban, Alexandria Technical and Community College.

Date Presented to the Workforce and Organizational Effectiveness Committee:11/15/22Date Presented to the Board of Trustees:11/15/22Date of Implementation:11/15/22