

Workforce and Organizational Effectiveness Committee Meeting Minutes March 22, 2023

A meeting of the Workforce and Organizational Effectiveness Committee of the Board of Trustees was held on March 22, 2023.

Committee members present: George Soule, Chair; Kathy Sheran, Vice Chair; Dawn Erlandson, Tim Huebsch, Javier Morillo, Cheryl Tefer

Committee members absent: None

Other board members present: Alix Cirillo, Jay Cowles, Jim Grabowska, Jerry Janezich, Roger Moe

Staff present: Devinder Malhotra, Chancellor; Eric Davis, Vice Chancellor for Human Resources

The meeting materials for this meeting are available here, starting on page 93. An audio recording of the meeting is available here.

Committee Chair Soule called the meeting to order at 12:05 p.m.

Agenda Item 1: Minutes for January 25, 2023

Committee Chair Soule asked if there are any changes or amendments to the minutes then asked for a motion to approve. Trustee Huebsch made the motion and Trustee Tefer provided a second.

A roll call vote was conducted, and the minutes were approved unanimously.

Agenda Item 2: Appointment of President for Minnesota State University Moorhead Committee Chair Soule invited Vice Chancellor Davis to present the Appointment of President for Minnesota State University Moorhead, as detailed in the meeting materials. The meeting materials for this item begin on page 97.

Committee Chair Soule asked committee members to consider the following recommended committee motion:

The Board of Trustees, upon the recommendation of Chancellor Malhotra, appoints Tim Downs as President of Minnesota State University Moorhead, with the anticipated effective date of July 1, 2023, subject to the completion of an employment agreement. The board authorizes the chancellor, in consultation with the chair for the board and chair of the Workforce and Organizational Effectiveness Committee, to negotiate and execute an employment agreement in accordance with the terms and conditions of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Personnel Plan for Administrators.

Trustee Huebsch made the motion and Trustee Erlandson seconded. A roll call vote was conducted. The vote was as follows:

Trustee Erlandson Yes
Trustee Huebsch Yes
Trustee Morillo Yes
Trustee Sheran Yes
Trustee Soule Yes
Trustee Tefer Yes

The committee voted to approve the recommended motion.

Adjournment

The committee chair adjourned the meeting at 12:18 p.m.